Lib Dems: Put a STOP! to Fracking

After Greta Thunberg, a Swedish school girl and climate change activist, visited Parliament last month and in response to environmental protests on the streets of London, the Lib Dems have coordinated a cross-party letter to the Government to demand an end to shale gas exploration.


Carshalton and Wallington MP Tom Brake said:

"A ban is Liberal Democrat policy and I am pleased that we have reached cross-party consensus. Climate change is happening too quickly to simply reduce carbon emissions. Instead, we must fully commit to zero-carbon energy.

"For the sake of present and future generations, we cannot allow yet more burning of fossil fuels which contribute to the biggest environmental crisis the world has ever seen. It is time the Government took responsibility for safeguarding the environment seriously and stopped fracking."

Full text of the letter:

Dear Prime Minister,

Greta Thunberg, the young Swedish campaigner, came to Parliament last Tuesday to speak to parliamentarians and to remind us all that climate change is an emergency and climate action the most important call for all political decision makers. We must not just reduce our greenhouse gas emissions, we must completely stop them. The IPCC stated that there is only 12 years for global warming to be kept to a maximum of 1.5C.

It is therefore incomprehensible that the Government continues to support the exploration of shale gas in the UK. Fracked fuel is a fossil fuel and the development of a new fossil fuel industry of any kind is unacceptable. That fracked fuel is acceptable as a transition fuel because it is a little less damaging than coal and oil is a false argument. The CCC have set 3 tests for Shale Gas Extraction to be compatible with the UK’s carbon budgets, budgets which are now too weak to meet the 1.5C warming, however these 3 tests cannot be met so an immediate moratorium on all Shale Gas must be implemented. The climate emergency calls on us to concentrate entirely on carbon zero energy.

We call on you to stop immediately any further support for the exploration of shale gas.


Wera Hobhouse MP
Ed Davey MP
David Drew MP
Darren Jones MP
Tim Farron MP
Daniel Zeichner MP
Matt Western MP
Alex Sobel MP
Caroline Lucas MP
Cat Smith MP
Louise Haigh MP
Paul Farrelly MP
Tom Brake MP
Ruth George MP
Rachel Maskell MP
Ivan Lewis MP

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.

Twitter latest